Local Area News

FISD reports new student

COVID-19 case on Nov. 29

Frankston Schools, on Monday, Nov. 29, reported one new COVID-19 student cases, according to Supt. Nicci Cook.

The  student, lab-confirmed to have COVID-19, was last on campus on Nov. 19, prior to the Thanksgiving break, she said.

Due to privacy requirements, the FISD will not be releasing the name of the individual or details that may identify him or her.

The new case was the first reported by FISD since Friday, Oct. 8. The case brings the student total to 67 along with 37 staff members for a total of 104 since the opening of school in August, according to Supt. Cook.

In the Oct. 8 report, two students, one last on campus on Monday, Oct. 4 and the other on Wednesday, Oct. 6, were test-confirmed as positive with the COVID-19 virus. The new cases brought the totals to 66 students and 37 staff members for an overall total of 103 since the opening of school in August.

All previous confirmed cases including the ones reported on Oct. 8 and the new case reported on Nov. 29  have been added to the school Dashboard HERE .

The case is being handled according to FISD safety and health protocols, outlined on the school Dashboard web page and notifications sent to parents and staff, Supt. Cook said.

• • • •

Frankston EDC Board okays price

for railroad property in downtown

The Frankston Economic Development Corp. Board of Directors met Monday night, Nov. 1 and agreed unanimously to the asking price by Southern Pacific Railroad for 3.2 acres of land located west of the Kathleen Cook Fitzgerald Museum, according to a report of unofficial minutes of the board meeting.

The board agreed on a price of $25,000 plus cost of closing and a survey.

Board members also unanimously approved a contract with Tommy Davis for use of the east wall of the former Ellis Mercantile building on the corner of SH 155 and Main Street in downtown Frankston. The contract provides for awarding the EDC a lifetime contract on the wall in exchange for a payment of $3,000 to finish repair to the exterior east wall of the building before a mural is painted.

After the board was presented an invoice from Whiskey Flats Design for design work done on a formerly proposed Amphitheater, they approved payment of $800 for the work.

The board also discussed the installation of an electronic sign in downtown Frankston welcoming passersby and other visitors to the city. After a demonstration of the electronic sign by Sign Masters, the board agreed that an excellent location for the sign would be in front of the Frankston Volunteer Fire Department building located just east of SH 155 and the Frankston Depot Library.

Board members expressed agreement that the sign should read something like “Welcome to Frankston, Texas” rather than “Welcome to Downtown Frankston”.

The Board learned that the sign comes with a five-year warranty and that electricity for the sign was estimated to cost $30 per month. Board secretary Kelli Landreth- Smith agreed to seek information on the cost of insurance required. Board members speculated that individuals might want to advertise their businesses which would help pay for extra cost.

At the close of the discussion, the Board unanimously approved a motion to present the proposal to the City Council.

• • • •

Frankston band wins region honor;

Beau, Sweetheart, seniors honored

Band honorees



Ryan Taylor and Haidyn Hokit

— FISD Courtesy Photo

The Frankston Indian band won first division at the UIL Region 21 Marching Competition in Longview on Saturday, Oct. 16 and will advance to the Area competition on Saturday,  Oct. 30 in Lindale.

UPDATE: The Frankston band earned fifth place at Area competition, according to an FISD posting.

On Senior Night, Thursday night, Oct. 28, senior members of the band were honored and recognized, along with parents and guardians.

Also announced were the winners of the title of Band Beau and Band Sweetheart. Winning those honors were Ryan Taylor and Haidyn Hokit.

Senior band members recognized were Haidyn Hokit, Gracie Roark, Riley Selman, Cullen Jones, Brooklyn Blacketer, Austin Boggs, Collin Deupree, Grace Giles, Kaitlyn Grayson, Trinity Smith, Hannah Stephens, Ryan Taylor, Autumn Thompson and Colby Zarate.

Also honored were senior cheerleaders Grace Giles, Tia Billingsly, Kelsey Sexton and Avery Skender.

• • • •

Tax abatement to be considered by Council Dec. 14

The City of Frankston will consider entering into a tax abatement agreement with Frankston Packaging, L.P., 699 N. Frankston Highway, at the regular City Council meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 14 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 240 W. Main St.

All interested parties have been encouraged to attend and present their views.

Visitors Since 2-21-21

publisher@frankstoncitizen.com • © The frankston citizen 1999-2021